Regent title picture, © DWI© DWI

claiming for the thrown

Regent

Regent - this all-rounder can do almost anything. Tastes like a wine from the deepest South and looks good with its deep dark red. In addition, Regent smells wonderful: like sweet, ripe fruit and freshly cooked red groats.

Regent evokes memories of the warmth of the south. Another advantage: Regent has a big plus on the eco-account. As it is resistant to fungal infections, pesticides can be saved in the vineyard quite massively. An early maturity, the dark color and a high resistance to winter frosts, too, speak for the variety. However, the variety does not like cold and windyvineyards; here it tends to ripen irregularly (millerandage).
The Institute for grapevine breeding Geilweilerhof succeeded in crossing (Silvaner x Müller-Thurgau) x Chambourcin in 1967, resulting in Regent. First plantations on experimental farms were made in 1985. Only in 1996, the grape variety was released for cultivation. The approval took longer than for any drug.
In Rheinhessen, the Regent vines cover an area of approximately 639 hectares (2% of the total vineyard area).
Even thou the typical Regent style is still being worked out, there already is a clear favourite: Powerful wines with a tasteabletannins structure. The aromas of plums or currants are remind of well-known international red wines.
The wines accompany meat dishes with concentrated sauces, a leg of lamb, an oxtail ragout or a game dish and well matured mountain cheese.

Rheinhessen offers much more

Events & Wine festivals

in Rheinhessen

back

Events & Wine festivals in Rheinhessen




Packages & Day programs

in Rheinhessen

back

Packages & Day programs in Rheinhessen



Accommodations & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

back

Accommodations & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winegrowers & Wineries

in Rheinhessen

back

Winegrowers & Wineries in Rheinhessen




Our Service contact:

You need assistance with a booking or have another question? We're here to help!

(0049) 6136 9239822Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30Fr: 08:30 - 15:00Or simply by mailservice@rheinhessen.info

Regent Titelbild, © DWI © DWI

Mit Regierungsanspruch

Regent

Regent - dieser Tausendsassa kann beinahe alles. Schmeckt wie ein Wein aus dem tiefsten Süden und sieht gut aus mit seinem tiefdunklen Rot. Außerdem duftet Regent wunderbar nach süßen, reifen Früchten und frisch gekochter roter Grütze.

Regent weckt Erinnerungen an die Wärme des Südens. Noch ein Vorteil: Regent hat ein ganz dickes Plus auf dem Öko-Konto. Weil er resistent gegen Pilzinfektionen ist, können im Weinberg Pflanzenschutzmittel gespart werden – und zwar ganz massiv. Eine frühe Reife, ein, die dunkle Farbe und eine hohe Widerstandsfähigkeit gegenüber Winterfrösten sind die Pluspunkte der Rebsorte. Die Sorte mag jedoch keine kalten, windigen Lagen - hier neigt sie zum Verrieseln
Dem Institut für Rebenzüchtung Geilweilerhof gelang diese  Kreuzung aus (Silvaner x Müller-Thurgau) x Chambourcin im Jahr 1967. Erste Pflanzungen in den Versuchsbetrieben erfolgten ab 1985. Erst 1996 wurde die Rebsorte zum Anbau freigegeben. Die Zulassung hat länger gedauert als für jedes Arzneimittel.
In Rheinhessen hat sich der Regent auf einer Rebfläche von ca. 740 ha etabliert.
Die Stil-Richtung beim Regent ist zwar noch im Gange, der favorisierte Typ ist jedoch erkennbar:  Kraftvolle Weine mit einem schmeckbaren Tanningerüst. Die Aromen von Pflaumen oder Johannisbeeren erinnern an bekannte internationale Rotweinsorten.
Die Weine begleiten Fleischgerichte mit konzentrierten Saucen, eine Lammkeule, ein Ochsenschwanzragout oder ein Wildgericht sowie gut gereiften Bergkäse.

Rheinhessen bietet noch viel mehr:

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste in Rheinhessen




Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme in Rheinhessen



Unterkünfte & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Unterkünfte & Hotels in Rheinhessen




Winzer & Weingüter

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Winzer & Weingüter in Rheinhessen




Unser Servicekontakt:

Sie benötigen Unterstützung bei einer Buchung oder haben eine andere Frage? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

(0049) 6136 9239822
Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30
Fr: 08:30 - 15:00
Oder einfach per E-Mail service@rheinhessen.info

Rheinhessen im Social Web:

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden!