August 2020

The vines urgently need(ed) water

There is a reason for the pun in the headline. The water supply is the limiting factor in the development of the grapes this year.

There are now places - especially around Mainz, Worms or in the west, where it rained a lot in the past few days and the grapes can now fill up really well. However, especially in July and August, precipitation was almost completely absent, especially in central Rheinhessen. The grapes literally stopped in their maturity development. In young vineyards you can observe that by the withered yellow leaves, but even in old vineyards you can find completely dried up vines despite their deep roots.

This year, too, there are signs of an envious autumn for the winemakers: Regarding the quantity due to the uneven water supply, but also with regard to the must weights due to the delay in ripening in the dry locations. On average, the first ripening measurements by the statisticians in Oppenheim show a slight lead in must weight of one week compared to last year. The acidity will again be moderate this year and will ultimately become the measure of all things in many vineyards when it comes to determining the harvesting date, as fresh, fruity white wines with moderate alcohol levels are particularly popular with wine lovers. The early red varieties are already completely coloured, the later ones are just in the middle of the colouring. In our pictures you can observe the special shades that occur during the colouring. 

The first grapes have already been picked for Federweisser, that is fermenting wine sold as a typical harvest drink in Germany, but we do not see this as the beginning of the vintage. Depending on the weather, the main harvest in Rheinhessen will begin in the first or second week of September, depending on the region.

show on map

Contact details:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Udo Diel

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Contact details:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Rheinhessen offers much more

Events & Wine festivals

in Rheinhessen

back

Events & Wine festivals in Rheinhessen




Packages & Day programs

in Rheinhessen

back

Packages & Day programs in Rheinhessen



Accommodations & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

back

Accommodations & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winegrowers & Wineries

in Rheinhessen

back

Winegrowers & Wineries in Rheinhessen




Our Service contact:

You need assistance with a booking or have another question? We're here to help!

(0049) 6136 9239822Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30Fr: 08:30 - 15:00Or simply by mailservice@rheinhessen.info

Traubenreife

August 2020

Die Reben brauch(t)en dringend Wasser

Das Wortspiel in der Überschrift hat seinen Grund. Die Wasserversorgung ist dieses Jahr der begrenzende Faktor in der Entwicklung der Trauben.

Es gibt mittlerweile Gemarkungen - insbesondere um Mainz, Worms oder auch im Westen, wo es in den vergangenen Tagen ordentlich geregnet hat und die Trauben sich jetzt richtig gut füllen können. Gerade im mittleren Rheinhessen fehlen die Niederschläge im Juli und August fast komplett. Die Trauben sind in Ihrer Reifeentwicklung regelrecht stehengeblieben. In jungen Weinbergen sieht man es an den welken gelben Blättern, aber auch in alten Weinbergen findet man trotz tiefer Wurzeln plötzlich komplett vertrocknete Rebstöcke.

Somit deutet sich auch dieses Jahr wieder ein neidischer Herbst für die Winzer an: Bezüglich der Menge wegen der ungleichen Wasserversorgung, aber auch bezüglich der Mostgewichte infolge der Reifeverzögerung in den trockenen Standorten. Im Gesamtdurchschnitt zeigen die ersten Reifemessung der Statistiker in Oppenheim einen leichten Vorsprung im Mostgewicht von einer Woche gegenüber dem vergangenen Jahr. Die Säure wird dieses Jahr wieder eher moderat ausfallen und in vielen Weinbergen letztendlich zum Maß der Dinge bezüglich der Festlegung des Lesetermins werden, da gerade frische fruchtige Weißweine mit moderaten Alkoholgehalten bei den Weinfreunden begehrt sind. Die frühen roten Sorten sind schon komplett gefärbt, die späteren sind gerade mitten in der Färbung, was wir man in unserem Bild sieht immer interessante Schattierungen mit sich bringt.

Die ersten Trauben wurden zwar schon für Federweißen gelesen, was wir jedoch nicht als Beginn der Weinlese sehen. Abhängig von der weiteren Witterung wird die Hauptlese in Rheinhessen regional differenziert in der ersten oder zweiten Septemberwoche beginnen.

auf Karte anzeigen

Kontaktinformationen:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Udo Diel

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Kontaktinformationen:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Rheinhessen bietet noch viel mehr

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste in Rheinhessen




Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme in Rheinhessen



Unterkünfte & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Unterkünfte & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winzer & Weingüter

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Winzer & Weingüter in Rheinhessen




Unser Servicekontakt:

Sie benötigen Unterstützung bei einer Buchung? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

(0049) 6136 9239822Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30Fr: 08:30 - 15:00Oder einfach per E-Mailservice@rheinhessen.info