May 2020

The vineyards starting early

April was sunny and warm, and the vines sprouted earlier than ever. The growth sprint continued until the beginning of May.

There is still enough water available for the vines with their deep roots. This development was slowed dow by the ice saints (May 11th to 15th) with low day and night temperatures. In some vineyards, the morning of May 12th (St. Pankratius day) even caused frost damage. 

The shoots that are growing out of the trunk must now be removed as they are a water and nutrient competition for the shoots on top of the rods. These shoots must now be tacked into the wire frame to protect them from wind breakage and above all to allow them to grow upwards. In addition, double shoots have to be removed to ensure good ventilation of the foliage wall. And all this is done manually. Here all the winegrowers are happy that travel bans were lifted for all Eastern European temporary workers. 

With 14 days before average development, the fruit set looks very good. Experience has shown that flowering begins when 12 to 13 leaves per shoot have grown. This year, winemakers expect it for the beginning of June.

show on map

Contact details:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Udo Diel

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Contact details:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Rheinhessen offers much more

Events & Wine festivals

in Rheinhessen

back

Events & Wine festivals in Rheinhessen




Packages & Day programs

in Rheinhessen

back

Packages & Day programs in Rheinhessen



Winegrowers & Wineries

in Rheinhessen

back

Winegrowers & Wineries in Rheinhessen




Our Service contact:

You need assistance with a booking or have another question? We're here to help!

(0049) 6136 9239822Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30Fr: 08:30 - 15:00Or simply by mailservice@rheinhessen.info

Blütenknopsenentwicklung

Genügend Wasser ist für die Reben mit ihren tiefen Wurzeln immer noch verfügbar. Die Eisheiligen (11. bis 15. Mai) bremsten diese Entwicklung mit tiefen Tages- und Nachttemperaturen nochmal ordentlich aus. In einzelnen Weinbergen kam es am Morgen des 12. Mai durch den heiligen Pankratius gar zu Forstschäden.

Die Triebe, die aus dem Stamm wachsen, müssen jetzt entfernt werden, da sie eine Wasser- und Nährstoffkonkurrenz zu den Trieben oben auf den Ruten darstellen. Diese Triebe müssen jetzt in den Drahtrahmen eingeheftet werden, um sie vor Windbruch zu schützen und vor allen Dingen nach oben wachsen zu lassen. Außerdem müssen Doppeltriebe entfernt werden, um schon jetzt eine gute Durchlüftung der Laubwand sicherzustellen. Und alles ist Handarbeit. Hier sind alle Winzer froh, dass die Einreise der osteuropäischen Aushilfskräfte doch noch geklappt hat.

Die Entwicklung ist mit 14 Tagen vor der Norm nicht nur überdurchschnittlich weit voran, auch der Fruchtansatz sieht sehr gut aus. Wenn 12 bis 13 Blätter je Trieb gewachsen sind beginnt erfahrungsgemäß die Blüte, damit rechnen die Winzer Anfang Juni.

auf Karte anzeigen

Kontaktinformationen:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Udo Diel

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Kontaktinformationen:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 18
E-Mail: udo.diel@rheinhessenwein.de

Rheinhessen bietet noch viel mehr

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste in Rheinhessen




Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme in Rheinhessen



Unterkünfte & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Unterkünfte & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winzer & Weingüter

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Winzer & Weingüter in Rheinhessen




Unser Servicekontakt:

Sie benötigen Unterstützung bei einer Buchung? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

(0049) 6136 9239822Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30Fr: 08:30 - 15:00Oder einfach per E-Mailservice@rheinhessen.info