Dienheimer Falkenberg (Falcon’s hill of Dienheim)
Once owned by the counts: limestone-rich vineyards for elegant wines
Birds of prey certainly fly their courses here, but they are not the origin of the name. Above Dienheim lies the "Falkenberg" vineyard. The name probably goes back to the "Counts of Falkenstein". In 1423, the mayor and council of the town of Oppenheim had jurisdiction over the Dienheim field parcel. From 1429 to 1497, Oppenheim belonged to the Counts of Falkenstein. So the people of Dienheim were also subjects of the counts. The Falkenberg stands for fine-fruited, elegant wines from various grape varieties. The subsoil of the loess beds contains loam and lime. The best way for hikers to discover the vineyard is by hiking the RheinTerrassenWeg and resting at the Falkenberghütte.
- To the further single location of Dienheim: Tafelstein