wine bottles

Rheinhessen (wine) in numbers

With 26,800 hectares, Rheinhessen is the largest of the German wine-growing regions and thus represents a good quarter of Germany's total vineyard area. Assuming the total area of the spacious triangle between Worms, Mainz and Bingen, the vines cover almost a fifth of the soil.

In almost all 136 municipalities of Rheinhessen (except for three) viticulture is carried out on 414 locations. The subject of the vineyards will occupy us even more intensively in the near future with the profiling of origin in the new wine law. The largest wine-growing "community" in Rheinhessen is Worms with 1,605 hectares of vineyards. The two other municipalities in the top 3, Westhofen and Nierstein, each with 800 hectares, are still much larger than the Ahr, Hessische Bergstrasse or Middle Rhine wine-growing regions.

The vineyards of Rheinhessen are currently cultivated by almost 2,400 wine-growing businesses, only about half of which actually appear on the market as self-marketing wineries, the rest deliver their harvest to cooperatives and producer groups or sell them to wineries. The number of wine-growing businesses has halved in the past 20 years. Smaller part-time and after-work businesses in particular are giving up and the areas are being taken over by ever larger wine-growing businesses. In the face of structural change, the purely family business is increasingly becoming an employer. In the viticulture schools there are more and more career changers with a lot of interest and fun in manual work in nature and in the cellar.

The climatic data in the knee of the Rhine have developed extremely positively for viticulture over the past 20 years. The annual average temperature has risen by over 1 degree to 10.5 degrees Celsius and, with milder winters, hardly causes any winter frost damage to the winemakers. The warming also enables the cultivation of international grape varieties which the older generation of winemakers would not have ripe every year. In contrast, precipitation in Germany's least rainy region has barely changed at 530 liters per square meter per year, but it is extremely different from region to region and from season to year. And it is precisely these weather extremes that will develop into the problem of climate change in the medium term: Sharply demarcated heavy rain or hailstorms alternate from year to year with frost damage when budding or extreme drought and more and more often leave the vintners with a fearful look at the more and more bluer with almost 2000 hours of sunshine the nascent sky over Rheinhessen.

These freak weather conditions also make the yields in the vineyards very different. In the past decade, they fluctuated between 7,600 and 11,200 liters per hectare of vineyards. The winemakers would do well to keep a small supply in the cellar for large vintages in order to compensate for smaller harvests. In 2020, 28,200 different wines with the origin “Rheinhessen” were marketed on the label, more than two thirds of them were white wines, almost a quarter red wines and one tenth rosé wines, which are currently very popular with wine lovers. Almost half of the wines are made dry, the rest are semi-dry and sweeter. Noble sweet selections and higher ratings hardly play a role in the amount of less than one percent. We are particularly pleased about the current increase of almost 7% in the sales volume of Rheinhessen plants compared to the 2019/2020 year-on-year comparison.

Rheinhessen has the world's largest Silvaner area with 2,100 hectares, but Riesling is the most cultivated variety in the vineyards with almost 5,000 hectares. The “bread and butter” variety Müller-Thurgau follows in second place with 4,000 hectares, before the Dornfelder (3,346 hectares) come third on the podium. The winemakers are currently making real money with the Pinot Gris, which does not make it into the top 3 in cultivation, but is extremely popular with wine connoisseurs at the moment. And after the Burgundy family, there is then a very colorful variety of grape varieties that grow on the 1,000 hills of the region. But that's also what defines Rheinhessen.

show on map

Contact details:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 0
E-Mail: info@rheinhessenwein.de

Contact details:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 0
E-Mail: info@rheinhessenwein.de

Rheinhessen offers much more

Events & Wine festivals

in Rheinhessen

back

Events & Wine festivals in Rheinhessen




Packages & Day programs

in Rheinhessen

back

Packages & Day programs in Rheinhessen



Accommodations & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

back

Accommodations & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winegrowers & Wineries

in Rheinhessen

back

Winegrowers & Wineries in Rheinhessen




Our Service contact:

You need assistance with a booking or have another question? We're here to help!

(0049) 6136 9239822Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30Fr: 08:30 - 15:00Or simply by mailservice@rheinhessen.info

Weinflaschen

Rheinhessen(wein) in Zahlen

Rheinhessen ist mit 26.800 ha das größte der deutschen Weinbaugebiete und stellt damit ein gutes Viertel der gesamten Rebfläche Deutschlands. Geht man von der Gesamtfläche des weiträumigen Dreiecks zwischen Worms, Mainz und Bingen aus, bedecken die Reben ein knappes Fünftel des Bodens.

In fast allen 136 Gemeinden Rheinhessens (bis auf drei) wird verteilt auf 414 Lagen Weinbau betrieben. Das Thema der Weinlagen wird uns in nächster Zeit mit der Herkunfts-Profilierung im neuen Weingesetz noch intensiver beschäftigen. Die größte weinbautreibende „Gemeinde“ in Rheinhessen ist Worms mit 1.605 Hektar Rebfläche. Die beiden weiteren Gemeinden unter den Top 3, Westhofen und Nierstein, sind mit je 800 Hektar immer noch weitaus größer als die Weinbaugebiete Ahr, Hessische Bergstraße oder Mittelrhein.

Die Weinlagen Rheinhessens werden im Moment von knapp 2.400 Weinbaubetrieben bewirtschaftet, wobei davon nur etwa die Hälfte der Betriebe tatsächlich als selbstvermarktende Weingüter am Markt auftreten, der restlichen liefern ihre Ernte an Genossenschaften und Erzeugergemeinschaften oder verkaufen sie an Kellereien. Die Zahl der Weinbaubetriebe hat sich in den vergangenen 20 Jahren halbiert. Insbesondere kleinere Nebenerwerbs- und Feierabendbetriebe geben auf und die Flächen werden von immer größer werdenden Weinbaubetrieben übernommen. Im Strukturwandel wird der reine Familienbetrieb immer mehr zum Arbeitgeber. In den Weinbauschulen finden sich für dieses Berufsfeld auch immer mehr Quereinsteiger mit viel Interesse und Spaß an handwerklicher Arbeit in Natur und Keller.

Die Klimadaten im Rheinknie haben sich in den vergangenen 20 Jahren für den Weinbau äußerst positiv entwickelt. Die Jahresdurchschnittstemperatur ist mit 10,5 Grad Celsius um über 1 Grad gestiegen und beschert den Winzern mit milderen Wintern kaum noch Winterfrostschäden. Die Erwärmung ermöglicht auch den Anbau internationaler Rebsorten, die in der älteren Winzergeneration gar nicht jedes Jahr reif geworden wären. Die Niederschläge in der regenärmsten Region Deutschlands haben sich dagegen mit 530 Litern je Quadratmeter und Jahr kaum verändert, fallen aber regional und jahreszeitlich extrem unterschiedlich aus. Und genau diese Wetterextreme entwickeln sich mittelfristig auch zum Problem des Klimawandels: Scharf abgegrenzter Starkregen oder Hagelunwetter wechseln sich von Jahr zu Jahr mit Frostschäden beim Austrieb oder extremer Trockenheit ab und lassen die Winzer immer häufiger mit bangem Blick zum im Übrigen mit fast 2000 Sonnenscheinstunden immer blauer werdenden Himmel über Rheinhessen blicken.

Diese Wetterkapriolen lassen auch die Erträge in den Weinbergen sehr unterschiedlich ausfallen. Sie schwankten in der vergangenen Dekade zwischen 7.600 und 11.200 Litern vom Hektar Rebfläche. Die Winzer tun gut daran, sich bei großen Jahrgängigen immer einen kleinen Vorrat im Keller anzulegen, um kleinere Ernten auszugleichen. Im Jahr 2020 wurden 28.200 verschiedene Weine mit der Herkunft „Rheinhessen“ auf dem Etikett vermarktet, mehr als zwei Drittel davon waren Weißweine, ein knappes Viertel Rotweine und ein Zehntel Roséweine, die bei den Weinfreunden derzeit sehr begehrt sind. Fast die Hälfte der Weine wird trocken ausgebaut, der Rest halbtrocken und süßer. Edelsüße Auslesen und höhere Prädikate spielen dabei in der Menge mit weniger als einem Prozent kaum noch eine Rolle. Besonders freuen wir uns ganz aktuell über das Plus von fast 7% in der Absatzmenge rheinhessischer Gewächse im Jahresvergleich 2019/2020.

Rheinhessen verfügt zwar mit 2.100 Hektar über die weltweitgrößte Silvanerfläche, der Riesling stellt jedoch mit fast 5.000 Hektar die meistangebaute Sorte in den Weinbergen. Die „Brot und Butter“-Sorte Müller-Thurgau folgt mit 4.000 Hektar auf Rang zwei, bevor als Dritter auf dem Treppchen der Dornfelder (3.346 ha) steht. Richtig Geld verdienen die Winzer im Moment mit dem Grauburgunder, der es zwar im Anbau noch nicht unter die Top 3 schafft, aber bei den Weingenießern im Moment extrem gut ankommt. Und nach der Burgunderfamilie gibt es dann eine ganz bunte Vielfalt von Rebsorten, die auf den 1.000 Hügeln der Region wachsen. Aber auch das macht Rheinhessen eben aus.

auf Karte anzeigen

Kontaktinformationen:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 0
E-Mail: info@rheinhessenwein.de

Kontaktinformationen:

Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Otto-Lilienthal-Straße 4

55232 Alzey

Tel: (0049) 6731 951074 0
E-Mail: info@rheinhessenwein.de

Rheinhessen bietet noch viel mehr

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste in Rheinhessen




Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme in Rheinhessen



Unterkünfte & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Unterkünfte & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winzer & Weingüter

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Winzer & Weingüter in Rheinhessen




Unser Servicekontakt:

Sie benötigen Unterstützung bei einer Buchung? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

(0049) 6136 9239822Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30Fr: 08:30 - 15:00Oder einfach per E-Mailservice@rheinhessen.info