Oliver und Tobias Schnabel
Mittlere Mauergasse 3
The picturesque chapel surrounded by vines
It is one of the landmarks of Rheinhessen: the Chapel of the Cross in Gau Bickelheim, surrounded by vines. With its red-tiled roof and warm sandstone walls, it really shines out. The single vineyard is named after the place of worship. The "Oberschultheiss Johann Jakob Hees zu Gau-Böckelheim" donated half of his precious vineyard in 1755 for the construction of the chapel. Various grape varieties grow on clay marl and limestone. Fourteen Stations of the Cross line the path from the village to the Chapel of the Cross, through this single vineyard.
> Info about the Kreuzkapelle Gau-Bickelheim: https://www.regionalgeschichte.net/rheinhessen/gau-bickelheim/kulturdenkmaeler/kreuzkapelle.html
> Also discover the nearby Via Vinea route; for hikers, Nordic walkers and skaters https://www.rheinhessen.de/a-via-vinea
> Why the writing "1250" on the photos? The photos were taken in 2021, the anniversary year of the village of Gau-Bickelheim.