© Robert Dieth/Rheinhessenwein e.V.© Robert Dieth/Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Gutenberg-Museum Mainz

Experience the history of printing, books and type-setting. One of the oldest book and print museums is located right at the heart of Mainz just across from the cathedral. Founded in 1900 by a group of citizens from Mainz, the Gutenberg Museum is dedicated to Johannes Gutenberg, the man behind one of the most important inventions in the history of mankind.

Among the biggest treasures of the collection are two original Gutenberg Bibles printed around 1450. Another highlight is the recreated workshop of Gutenberg were skilled printers demonstrate how books were printed in the 15th century. A short film introduces visitors to the life and work of the inventor of the modern printing press. An audio guide (in German, English and French) guides you through the enlightening exhibition. There are also five special-interest tours through individual sections of the museum.

At the Gutenberg Museum, you will see printing presses from all eras, learn about printing techniques used in Europe and elsewhere, and find out how books were produced in the past. The museum also explores the history of paper and writing. It further features a special area dedicated to the history of the print media. The collection of the Gutenberg Library includes job prints, bookplates, print graphics as well as posters, fine editions and art books (by appointment only). Temporary exhibitions focus on the history of book production, modern print graphics or typography, spanning the time from Gutenberg's time to the 21st century.

A visit to the Gutenberg Museum's education workshop is always a special treat. In the printing shop, visitors can try their hand at typesetting and printing, assisted by skilled printers. The Gutenberg Museum offers a range of educational events for young and old and a well-stocked museum shop. Close to the museum, visitors find several coffee shops and restaurants. 

Rheinhessen offers much more:

Accommodations & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

back

Accommodations & Hotels in Rheinhessen




Our Service contact:

You need assistance with a booking or have another question? We're here to help!

(0049) 6136 9239822
Mon-Thu: 08:30 - 16:30
Fri: 08:30 - 15:00
Or simply by mail service@rheinhessen.info

Rheinhessen in the Social Web:

Stay up to date!

7727-buchstaben-far-buchdruck-robert-dieth-rheinhessenwein-ev, © Robert Dieth/Rheinhessenwein e.V.© Robert Dieth/Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Erleben Sie die Geschichte von Druck, Buch und Schrift „live“: Im Zentrum der Mainzer Altstadt, gegenüber dem Dom, liegt eines der ältesten Buch- und Druckmuseen der Welt. Das im Jahr 1900 von Mainzer Bürgern gegründete Gutenberg-Museum ist dem „Mann des Jahrtausends“ Johannes Gutenberg und seinen Erfindungen gewidmet.

Zu den größten Schätzen des Museums gehören zwei originale Gutenberg-Bibeln aus der Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts. Auch die rekonstruierte Gutenberg-Werkstatt zählt zu den Hauptattraktionen. Hier wird jeden Tag stündlich demonstriert, wie zu Gutenbergs Zeiten gedruckt wurde. Ein moderner Film führt in Leben und Werk Gutenbergs ein. Mit dem Audioguide (dt., engl., franz.) können Sie anschließend auf „Lauschtour“ gehen und die Highlights des Hauses in deutscher, englischer und französischer Sprache kennenlernen. Fünf „Extratouren“ führen Sie durch einzelne Abteilungen.

Im Gutenberg-Museum können Sie Druckpressen aus vielen Jahrhunderten sehen und sich umfassend über europäische und außereuropäische Drucktechnik, über die Buchkunst vieler Jahrhunderte, über die Geschichte des Papiers und der Schrift, über Pressegeschichte und vieles mehr informieren. Unsere Sondersammlungen umfassen Akzidenzen und Exlibris, Grafiken und Plakate, Pressendrucke (Kleinverlage) und Künstlerbücher, die Sie gerne in der Gutenberg-Bibliothek einsehen können (Voranmeldung). In wechselnden Sonderausstellungen werden Beispiele historischer und moderner Buch- und Druckkunst und Typografie gezeigt und der Bogen zum 21. Jahrhundert geschlagen.

Besonders spannend ist auch ein Besuch in der museumspädagogischen Werkstatt des Gutenberg-Museums. Im Druckladen kann jeder unter fachkundiger Anleitung selbst das Setzen und Drucken ausprobieren. Außerdem bietet das Gutenberg-Museum Ihnen eine Vielzahl museumspädagogischer Angebote für Alt und Jung, einen Museumsshop und mehrere Cafés und Restaurants in der näheren Umgebung. 

Rheinhessen bietet noch viel mehr:

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste in Rheinhessen




Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme in Rheinhessen



Unterkünfte & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Unterkünfte & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winzer & Weingüter

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Winzer & Weingüter in Rheinhessen




Unser Servicekontakt:

Sie benötigen Unterstützung bei einer Buchung oder haben eine andere Frage? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

(0049) 6136 9239822
Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30
Fr: 08:30 - 15:00
Oder einfach per E-Mail service@rheinhessen.info

Rheinhessen im Social Web:

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden!