
The collection at the "Museum Storage of the Fortress and Garrison Mainz" showcases uniforms, photos, documents, and memorabilia that vividly illustrate the garrison history of the city. Particularly noteworthy is a detailed model of the Mainz fortress. All exhibits were acquired and lovingly arranged by Wolfgang Balzer with great effort. The museum is generally accessible to all visitors, although prior registration is required. During guided tours, Wolfgang Balzer provides an exceptionally educational and entertaining introduction to the…

In the heart of Mainz, the State Theatre is a vibrant meeting place for artistic and social engagement. The multi-genre house unites opera, drama, and dance under one roof and features the Grand House, the Small House, the Studio Stage U17 deep underground, and the Glass House with a view of the cathedral. A fixed ensemble and continuous collaboration with five resident directors shape the theatre's profile. An extensive repertoire with numerous cross-genre productions ensures a varied schedule. The artistic work of the theatre reflects both…

On a terrain between Stiegelgasse and Jungfernpfad which is now settled again, there was the synagogue, built in 1841 as “a nice copy of oriental style” .The entrance was in Stielgelgasse. Crossing a small garden, the gate was reached. A side door led to the female emporium, another to the emplacement of the choir, where the organ was also situated. The main hall had 10-12 rows with 5 to 6 seats each on both sides. The Torah case was at the end of the hall on an elevated place. There both reading and the sermon took place. The…

The construction of a forester's lodge in the second half of the 18th century is linked to the appointment of a kurfürstlichen forester. He was responsible for the entire Ingelheimer territory. The government aimed to combat the ongoing wood shortage with targeted reforestation. Sand dunes in the Nieder-Ingelheimer district were planted with pines. The wooded floodplains of the Rhine were managed. With the oversight of the planting of white mulberry trees to promote silk production, the forester received an important additional task…

The Untertorturm is one of the seven towers of the Fleckenmauer wall built in the 15th century for protection. The gate, which was knocked down in 1840, was previously operated day and night. The battlements led around the tower over the gate to the other side of the street. Until the renovation in 1989, the high entrance in the west was the only access to the three-storey watchtower. Among other things, the tower served as a guardroom and probably also as the guard's flat. Text according to the signs on the tower with the kind permission of…

Flörsheim-Dalsheim town hall with council chamber and caucus room, where the municipal council regularly meets. -First mentioned in 1564 as an "open common town hall". -The ground floor dates back to the 16th century, it was probably used as a salesroom The "Elle", which is still visible today, indicates a trading place. -The upper floor with its plain half-timbering was newly built in the middle of the 18th century. -The stone staircase leads to a loggia from which official announcements were made in former times. A small uncomfortable…

The Nackenheim Local Museum "MUXUM" conveys the history of the community of Nackenheim to visitors from different perspectives. In the "village treasury", the permanent presentation on the history of Nackenheim (ground floor), selected exhibits are displayed, each of which had a specific significance for the village and the region. A Q-code on the respective display case allows interested museum visitors to delve deeper into the history. The permanent exhibition "Nackenheim - the lower village shaped by the Rhine" (ground floor),…

The Oswaldhöhe is a vantage point from which you can let your gaze wander over the Rhine-Hessian village of Bornheim. There is also a table of wine here.