Bild Cauerhaus

Bad Kreuznach

Cauerhaus

The Cauer Society, founded in December 1995, initially renovated primarily the studio and residence of the Cauer family. Since 2002, the rooms on the lower floor of the house have been open to visitors, with changing exhibitions. Since 2013, the Cauer House Foundation has been established under the umbrella of the German Foundation for Monument Protection. The goal of the Cauer Society is to preserve the heritage of all Cauer artists and present it to interested visitors in the museum-like Cauer House. Cauer House: Reminiscence of the Cauer…

Julianenbrunnen

Guntersblum

Julianenbrunnen

The Julianenbrunnen, popularly known as the Giljebrunne, is a 400-year-old fountain in the center of the Guntersblum Kellerweg, which is famous for its great wine festival. The building is now considered a cultural monument. Unfortunately, the exact age of the Julianenbrunnen is unknown. The first mention of a fountain at this location dates back to 1472, but the spring has probably been fortified for longer. The Julianenbrunnen was first officially documented in 1608. At this time, the fountain was renovated and the year was carved slightly…

Jüdischer Friedhof

Worms

Jüdischer Friedhof "Heiliger Sand" Worms

The oldest Jewish cemetery in Europe has around 2,000 graves, the oldest gravestone dates from around 1058/1059 and is part of the UNESCO World Heritage SchUM Sites Speyer, Worms, Mainz - Jewish Heritage for the World. From the part on the former city rampart you have an impressive view of the cathedral, the so-called "Martin Buber View". The old Jewish cemetery "Heiliger Sand" is still of great importance to Jews worldwide. Numerous influential Jewish scholars and rabbis were buried here. The oldest gravestones date back to 1058/59 and thus…

Wörrstädter Graben

Wörrstadt

Wörrstädter Graben

The village trench in Wörrstadt is a valuable heritage from the Middle Ages. First documented in the 13th century as “Zingele,” it is a worthy green lung in today’s urban area with its rich tree population. As a vegetated defensive structure, the trench enclosed the entire village area until the early 19th century. Until the 1980s, the trench was mostly planted with centuries-old elm trees, also called Effen. They all fell victim to the elm bark beetle and were replaced by other tree species. Since the spring of 2015,…

Katholische Kirche

Westhofen

Katholische Kirche

The church was built in 1712 in place of the destroyed Michaeliskapelle and later remodeled and expanded with neo-Gothic forms. Beneath the nave is a vaulted medieval ossuary. Due to the limited space of the cemetery, the bones that were excavated during reburials were collected and stored there. It was already mentioned in 1496. Later, it was abandoned and fell into oblivion. It was only rediscovered in 1981 during construction work. History / Stories / Anecdotes: The ossuary was discovered on October 3, 1981, during construction work in…

Kirschgarten

Mainz-Altstadt

Haus zum Aschaffenberg

With the proceeds from the house at Aschaffenberg, Gutenberg's cousin Arnold Gelthus co-signed for the start-up financing of the printing workshop in Humbrechthof. Today, it is the oldest half-timbered house in Mainz, located in the picturesque Kirschgarten - right in the heart of the charming old town.