Kellerlabyrinth in Oppenheim

Oppenheim

Oppenheim cellar labyrinth

Important note: Guided tours of the cellar labyrinth can only be booked through the Oppenheim Tourist Information Office. Bookings, further information, and inquiries can only be made at: www.stadt-oppenheim.de/buchen | by telephone at 06133 4909-14 or 06133 4909-19 | or by email at tourismus@stadt-oppenheim.de Historic cellars beneath the old town With its extensive cellar complex, built between the 12th and 17th centuries, Oppenheim boasts a unique cultural monument. A circular tour through the underground town center of Oppenheim…

Windeck Castle

Ingelheim

Windeck Castle

Windeck Castle in the centre of the district of Heidesheim was built by the knight Herdegen zu Winternheim in 1209 in the style of a tower castle with Gothic residential buildings. Originally, it was probably a moated castle with a moat and a curtain wall. Various owners used the castle as a residence, tannery and perforated mill, but also for religious services, before the municipality of Heidesheim am Rhein acquired it in 1993 with the aim of saving it from decay. Today, the building houses a community centre, a mayor's office and a wedding…

Denkmalgeschützte Hofanlage Bornstraße

Ingelheim am Rhein

Listed farmstead

The building substance of the property largely dates back to the mid-19th century. Typical for the locality, the residential building features a solid masonry ground floor and a half-timbered upper floor. This house included six living spaces. The outbuildings were exclusively constructed from rubble stone. The courtyard is accessed through a gate structure with large wooden wings. The builder at that time was the municipal tax collector Nikolaus Kloos. In 1849, he succeeded the democratically minded mayor Johann Heinrich Klippel in office as…

Edelgasse

Ingelheim

Edelgasse (Noble-alley)

The lower part of Stiegelgasse and Edelgasse form one of the early cores of Ober-Ingelheim’s settlement. Here a significant number of aristocratic estates were concentrated. Most were singular farmsteads surrounded by large gardens or parks. The estate Stiegelgasse 65 with the Bodepark once belonged to the von Beuser family, one of the two sidelines of an early mentioned old Ingelheim kin of nobles. Around 1837, on this site, the estate of the wine and vinegar merchant Philipp August Gerhard was created, using old foundations. The…

Laurentiuskirche außen

Wörrstadt

church Woerrstadt

The former St. Lawrence Church mentioned today was referenced as a "fortified church" in 1152. It was a Romanesque three-nave pillar basilica. Apparently, there was already a smaller church in the 8th century. In 1226, the church was remodeled in the late Gothic style. The main nave originates from the 15th century, while the post-Gothic side aisles date back to the early 17th century. Romanesque elements in the choir, round arches, columns, and doorways can still be seen. Noteworthy are the huge old stone cross with a figure of Christ from…

Karolingische Wasserleitung Wackernheim

Ingelheim am Rhein

The Carolingian water pipe (at Bachwiese)

Here you see a section of an early medieval long-distance water pipeline. It was found in 2004 in close proximity. Scientifically, it has been dated to the construction period of the Imperial Palace, namely the late 8th century AD. The long-distance water pipeline supplied high-quality drinking water from the spring area "Karlsquelle" near Heidesheim through the Wackernheimer Valley to Nieder-Ingelheim, into the palace of Charlemagne. This was achieved through a 6.8 km long canal, which mostly ran underground. The structure, built from…

Rinderbach Street

Ingelheim

Rinderbachstraße

Here at the northern end of Rinderbachstraße stood a covered double gate structure in the Middle Ages. It controlled the access to and from Nieder-Ingelheim and led directly to the so-called small market near St. Remigius. The remains of the old gate were rebuilt for residential purposes in the early 19th century in the style of a gatehouse; however, this change had to be demolished due to its dilapidated condition. Only one side pillar remained, which is connected to the outer walls of the former apothecary's residence. About halfway…