Gutenberg Monument

Man of the Millennium. World changer. Biggest son of the city Mainz

Johannes Gutenberg

Johannes Gutenberg is known as the son of the city of Mainz and inventor of printing with movable type. Through this revolutionary invention, knowledge could be disseminated, which until today is regarded as a milestone in the media industry. In Mainz you can discover many memorials of Gutenberg such as :. the Gutenberg Monument on Gutenbergplatz and the world-famous Gutenberg Museum, where the historic printing press and the original Bible can still be viewed today.

7727-letters-far-letterpress-robert-dieth-Rheinhessen wine-ev © Robert Dieth / Rheinhessen wine eV

  Experience the history of printing, books and type-setting. One of the oldest book and print museums is located right at the heart of Mainz just across from the cathedral. Founded in 1900 by a group of citizens from Mainz, the Gutenberg Museum is dedicated to Johannes Gutenberg, the man behind one of the most important inventions in the history of mankind. Among the biggest treasures of the collection are two original Gutenberg Bibles printed around 1450. Another highlight is the recreated workshop of Gutenberg were skilled...

Printshop Gutenberg-Museum

  The print shop sees itself as a practice-oriented place for anyone with a specialist and lay area. It is an authentic place with original typesetting cabinets, lead pencils and wooden placards. The toggle and gravure presses from the second half of the 19th century emphasize the museum's reference, but are also ready for use. A table-pull and two hand-pull presses complete the current range of hand presses. As a museum educational workshop, the »Druckladen« offers interested groups as well as individuals...

Gutenberg Monument

  An over-life-size bronze statue of Johannes Gutenberg adorns the square that bears his name. The statue is based on a model by the Danish sculptor Berthel Thorvaldsen. Fully restored in 2010, the monument depicts the famous inventor of movable type. As we do not have a contemporary portrait of Gutenberg, the statue is of an idealised scholar of his time – bearded, well dressed and carrying a bible and a printing plate. When the monument was first unveiled in 1837, the people of Mainz celebrated for three full days. Even...

Gutenbergplatz

  Gutenbergplatz is named after Johannes Gutenberg, probably the most famous son of Mainz. From a building historic, sociological and city planning point of view, it is the most important square of the city and recognised as a heritage site.  

Anniversary year for the 550th anniversary of Johannes Gutenberg's death

Gutenberg 2018

Johannes Gutenberg revolutionized media and cultural history with the invention of movable-type letterpress printing. In the anniversary year, Mainz celebrates its greatest son with guided tours, exhibitions, conferences, courses and much more

calendar of events

Rheinhessen offers much more:

Events & Wine festivals

in Rheinhessen

back

Events & Wine festivals in Rheinhessen




Packages & Day programs

in Rheinhessen

back

Packages & Day programs in Rheinhessen



Accommodations & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

back

Accommodations & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winegrowers & Wineries

in Rheinhessen

back

Winegrowers & Wineries in Rheinhessen




Our Service contact:

You need assistance with a booking or have another question? We're here to help!

(0049) 6136 9239822
Mon-Thu: 08:30 - 16:30
Fri: 08:30 - 15:00
Or simply by mail service@rheinhessen.info

Rheinhessen in the Social Web:

Stay up to date!

Gutenberg-Denkmal

Man of the Millennium. Weltveränderer. Größter Sohn der Stadt Mainz

Johannes Gutenberg

Johannes Gutenberg ist bekannt als der Sohn der Stadt Mainz sowie Erfinder des Buchdrucks mit beweglichen Lettern. Durch diese revolutionäre Erfindung konnte Wissen verbreitet werden, was bis heute als Meilenstein der Medienwirtschaft gilt. In Mainz können Sie viele Gedenkstätten Gutenbergs entdecken wie z.B:. das Gutenberg Denkmal auf dem Gutenbergplatz und das weltberühmte Gutenberg-Museum, in dem noch heute die historische Druckerpresse sowie die Original Bibel betrachtet werden kann.

7727-buchstaben-far-buchdruck-robert-dieth-rheinhessenwein-ev © Robert Dieth/Rheinhessenwein e.V.

Erleben Sie die Geschichte von Druck, Buch und Schrift „live“: Im Zentrum der Mainzer Altstadt, gegenüber dem Dom, liegt eines der ältesten Buch- und Druckmuseen der Welt. Das im Jahr 1900 von Mainzer Bürgern gegründete Gutenberg-Museum ist dem „Mann des Jahrtausends“ Johannes Gutenberg und seinen Erfindungen gewidmet. Zu den größten Schätzen des Museums gehören zwei originale Gutenberg-Bibeln aus der Mitte des 15. Jahrhunderts. Auch die rekonstruierte Gutenberg-Werkstatt...

Druckladen Gutenberg-Museum © Gutenberg-Museum

Der Druckladen versteht sich als praxisbezogener Ort für jedermann mit einem Fach- und Laienbereich. Es handelt sich um einen authentischen Ort mit originalen Setzschränken, Bleischriften und Plakatlettern aus Holz. Die Kniehebel- und Tiefdruckpressen aus der zweiten Hälfte des 19. Jahrhunderts betonen den Museumsbezug, stehen zugleich aber zur Benutzung bereit. Eine Tisch-Abzugs- und zwei Hand-Abzugspressen komplettieren das derzeitige Angebot an Handpressen. Als museumspädagogische Werkstatt bietet der...

Gutenberg- Denkmal Bild 3 © Landeshauptstadt Mainz

In Überlebensgröße thront er auf dem Platz, der seinen Namen trägt: Der dänische Bildhauer Berthel Thorvaldsen lieferte den Entwurf für das Bronzestandbild von Johannes Gutenberg. Das im Jahr 2010 komplett sanierte Denkmal zeigt den Erfinder des Buchdrucks, von dem es kein zeitgenössisches Bildnis gibt, in idealisierter Darstellung: bärtig, vornehm gekleidet, mit Bibel und Drucktypen in der Hand. Die Einweihung des Denkmals 1837 feierten die Mainzerinnen und Mainzer mit einem drei Tage andauernden...

Gutenbergplatz © Sascha Kopp

Der Gutenbergplatz ist der baukulturell und städtebaulich bedeutenste Platz in der Mainzer Innenstadt, benannt nach dem gebürtigen Mainzer Johannes Gutenberg. Der Platz ist aufgrund seiner sozialen und städtebaulichen Geschichte als Denkmalzone ausgewiesen.

Jubiläumsjahr zum 550. Todestag Johannes Gutenbergs

Gutenberg 2018

Mit der Erfindung des Buchdrucks mit beweglichen Lettern revolutionierte Johannes Gutenberg die Medien- und Kulturgeschichte. Im Jubiläumsjahr feiert Mainz ihren größten Sohn mit Führungen, Ausstellungen, Tagungen, Kursen u.v.m.

Veranstaltungskalender

Rheinhessen bietet noch viel mehr:

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste in Rheinhessen




Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme in Rheinhessen



Unterkünfte & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Unterkünfte & Hotels in Rheinhessen




Winzer & Weingüter

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Winzer & Weingüter in Rheinhessen




Unser Servicekontakt:

Sie benötigen Unterstützung bei einer Buchung oder haben eine andere Frage? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

(0049) 6136 9239822
Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30
Fr: 08:30 - 15:00
Oder einfach per E-Mail service@rheinhessen.info

Rheinhessen im Social Web:

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden!