St. Laurent cover picture, © DWI© DWI

Blue chip from the second row

St. Laurent

The St. Laurent sprints through the vegetation: he drives out early and is also mature early. He loves deep soils and, like all members of the Pinot family, he enjoys his work on calcareous sites.

Burgundy friends have a lot to offer Rheinhessen winemakers. While Spätburgunder, Grauburg and Weißburgunder bask in the splendor of the big stage, there are also some Burgundy blue chips in the second row that deserve special attention.
These include the St. Laurent, which has established itself as an independent red wine of the Pinot family in the vineyards of Rheinhessen with a vineyard of 270 hectares (1% of the vineyard).
The naming of St. Laurent goes back to St. Lawrence. Incidentally, he is also considered the patron saint of cooks. His memorial day (10th of August) coincides with the beginning of St. Laurent's ripening. In this time window, the first red colorations on the St. Laurent berries can be observed.
A high natural ripeness of the berries in combination with good extract and acidity usually results in particularly aromatic, strong and at the same time fresh red wines. The range of flavors is wide-ranging: blackcurrants, wild cherries, elderberries or dark chocolate are the defining components - for longer-aged wines, the relationship to Pinot Noir is tastable. The acid is clearly emphasized in the St. Laurent, the tannins are considered to be thoroughly pleasant. The expansion in small wooden barrels sets in many cases the icing on the cake i this sophisticated grape variety.
The St. Laurent is in many assortments specialty and rarity at the same time and therefore often to find in excellent qualities. Depending on the fruitiness and density of these interesting red wines fit lighter or stronger dishes to game and mature cheeses.

Rheinhessen offers much more:

Events & Wine festivals

in Rheinhessen

back

Events & Wine festivals in Rheinhessen




Packages & Day programs

in Rheinhessen

back

Packages & Day programs in Rheinhessen



Accommodations & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

back

Accommodations & Hotels in Rheinhessen



Winegrowers & Wineries

in Rheinhessen

back

Winegrowers & Wineries in Rheinhessen




Our Service contact:

You need assistance with a booking or have another question? We're here to help!

(0049) 6136 9239822
Mon-Thu: 08:30 - 16:30
Fri: 08:30 - 15:00
Or simply by mail service@rheinhessen.info

Rheinhessen in the Social Web:

Stay up to date!

St. Laurent Titelbild, © DWI © DWI

Blue Chip aus der zweiten Reihe

St. Laurent

Der St. Laurent sprintet durch die Vegetation: Er treibt früh aus und ist auch früh reif. Er liebt tiefgründige Böden und an kalkhaltigen Standorten hat er wie alle Mitglieder der Pinot-Familie seine große Freude.

Burgunderfreunden haben Rheinhessens Winzern eine Menge zu bieten. Während  Spätburgunder, Grau- und Weißburgunder sich im Glanz der großen Bühne sonnen, gibt es auch ein paar Burgunder-Blue-Chips in der zweiten Reihe, die besondere Aufmerksamkeit verdienen.
Dazu zählt der St. Laurent, der sich als eigenständiger Rotwein der Pinot-Familie in den Weinbergen Rheinhessens mit einer Rebfläche von 290 Hektar fest etabliert hat.
Die Namengebung für den St. Laurent geht auf den Heiligen  Laurentius zurück. Er gilt übrigens auch als der Schutzpatron der Köche. Sein Gedenktag  (10. August)  fällt mit der beginnenden Traubenreife des St. Laurent  zusammen. In diesem Zeitfenster sind die ersten Rotfärbungen auf den St. Laurent-Beeren zu beobachten.
Eine hohe natürliche Reife der Beeren lässt im Zusammenspiel mit guten Extrakt- und Säurewerten meist besonders aromatische, kräftige und zugleich frische Rotweine entstehen. Das Aromen-Spektrum ist weit gespannt: Schwarze Johannisbeeren, Wildkirschen , Holunderbeeren oder Bitterschokolade sind die prägenden Komponenten - bei länger gelagerten Weinen wird die Verwandtschaft zum Spätburgunder schmeckbar. Die Säure ist beim St. Laurent deutlich betont, die Gerbstoffe gelten als durchweg angenehm. Der Ausbau im kleinen Holzfass setzt in vielen Fällen das Tüpfelchen auf das i dieser anspruchsvollen Rebsorte.
Der St. Laurent ist in vielen Sortimenten Spezialität und  Rarität zugleich und daher oft in ausgezeichneten Qualitäten zu finden. Je nach Fruchtigkeit und Dichte passen diese interessanten Rotweine zu leichteren oder kräftigeren Gerichten bis hin zu Wild und reifem Käse.

Rheinhessen bietet noch viel mehr:

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Veranstaltungen & Weinfeste in Rheinhessen




Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Pauschalen & Tagesprogramme in Rheinhessen



Unterkünfte & Hotels

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Unterkünfte & Hotels in Rheinhessen




Winzer & Weingüter

in Rheinhessen

zurück

Winzer & Weingüter in Rheinhessen




Unser Servicekontakt:

Sie benötigen Unterstützung bei einer Buchung oder haben eine andere Frage? Wir helfen Ihnen gerne weiter!

(0049) 6136 9239822
Mo-Do: 08:30 - 16:30
Fr: 08:30 - 15:00
Oder einfach per E-Mail service@rheinhessen.info

Rheinhessen im Social Web:

Bleiben Sie auf dem Laufenden!