
Where today the street "An der Bachwiese" runs, the mill stream used to flow. This was an artificially created watercourse, fed by the springs on the Neuberg and in the Großen Wiese. It powered the waterwheel of the Mitzmühle and then crossed the Hasselstraße. Beyond the Mühlstraße, it united with the Osterbach. The water power of this stream then served the mills of the three lower mills. Additionally, the water from the nearby springs was utilized. All Wackernheim mills were driven by overshot waterwheels. Until…

First mentioned in 1413 and thus the oldest mill in Monsheim. The mill was converted into an electricity plant in 1900. The first electric current in Monsheim was produced here. The landowner at this time was Hermann Finger. A special feature of the mill was the historical boundary between Monsheim and Kriegsheim, which ran right through the middle of the estate. Since about 1920, the mill has been owned by the Milch family, who successfully run a restaurant and wine-growing business here. Text taken from the Monsheim tour with kind…

Unique testimonies to Jewish life in Worms can still be seen today, including the Jewish Museum in the Rashi House. Step inside and learn about the long history of the building and the wide-ranging collection on the religion and everyday life of the Jewish community from the Middle Ages to the 20th century. New permanent exhibition ‘SchUm am Rhein - From the Middle Ages to the Modern Age’: The occasion for the exhibition is also the application for recognition of the SchUM sites of Speyer, Worms and Mainz as UNESCO World…

The trullo, the trulli - the special little vineyard house in Rheinhessen. Former shelters in the vineyards for the workers, but also intended for the "Wingertsschütz" who guarded the vineyards.

In Osthofen, in an old disused paper factory on Ziegelhüttenweg, the only early concentration camp for the then People's State of Hesse was located from the beginning of March 1933 to the beginning of July 1934. Today, the Rhineland-Palatinate Nazi Documentation Center / Osthofen Concentration Camp Memorial is located here under the sponsorship of the State Center for Civic Education (LpB). The Project Osthofen e.V. support association, founded in 1986, works closely with the LpB. The concentration camp memorial in Osthofen is a place…

Windeck Castle in the centre of the district of Heidesheim was built by the knight Herdegen zu Winternheim in 1209 in the style of a tower castle with Gothic residential buildings. Originally, it was probably a moated castle with a moat and a curtain wall. Various owners used the castle as a residence, tannery and perforated mill, but also for religious services, before the municipality of Heidesheim am Rhein acquired it in 1993 with the aim of saving it from decay. Today, the building houses a community centre, a mayor's office and a wedding…

The building substance of the property largely dates back to the mid-19th century. Typical for the locality, the residential building features a solid masonry ground floor and a half-timbered upper floor. This house included six living spaces. The outbuildings were exclusively constructed from rubble stone. The courtyard is accessed through a gate structure with large wooden wings. The builder at that time was the municipal tax collector Nikolaus Kloos. In 1849, he succeeded the democratically minded mayor Johann Heinrich Klippel in office as…

Multimedia offer guides you through the imperial palace of Ingelheim! The Kaiserpfalz App is available free of charge at Google Play and in the AppStore (to be found under the keyword "Kaiserpfalz Ingelheim"). The app supplements the signage and accompanying booklet with a digital guide through the Kaiserpfalz region, which provides audio texts and picture galleries, among other things. Thus, the Kaiserpfalz can be experienced digitally at any place and at any time.